• 2020 Entries Deadline: 27 March 2020

  • Jury Session: 11-14 May 2020

  • Successful Entries Notified: 22 May 2020

  • Good Design Awards Ceremony, Sydney: 9 July 2020



2020 Good Design Award: Architecture Competition


Australia’s annual Good Design Awards program is one of the oldest and most prestigious international design awards in the world, promoting excellence in design and innovation since 1958. It is recognised by the World Design Organization (WDO) as Australia’s peak international design endorsement program.

The Good Design Awards represent the diverse spectrum of design with 10 specific Design Disciplines, spanning 28 Categories. Through our annual Good Design Awards program, we proudly showcase superior examples of good design to a national and international audience.


The Good Design Awards evaluates all entries based on three overarching design criteria that include: Good Design, Design Innovation and Design Impact as listed below. Further to this, Judges are asked to evaluate each entry based on specific evaluation criteria aligned to each of the 10 Design Disciplines listed here.



Please refer to the category specific Evaluation Criteria for Good Design for the 10 Design Disciplines listed here.


    • Does the entry advance the design profession and push the boundaries of new and innovative thinking in design practice?

    • Is the entry truly unique, imaginative and innovative and does it offer a totally new and groundbreaking value proposition with world-first features?

    • Does the entry use new systems, materials, processes and/or technology in a clever, imaginative and original manner?



    • Social Impact: Does the entry have the potential to make a significant positive impact on society? Will it improve the quality of life for people and our planet and help contribute to a better, safer and more prosperous world?

    • Commercial Impact: Does the entry have the potential to make a significant positive impact on business performance? Will the investment in design result in a significant increase in market share, sales and/or customer loyalty?

    • Environmental Impact: Does the entry have the potential to make a significant positive impact on the environment? Will the design set a new benchmark for sustainable design and help contribute to a better and more sustainable future?


To be announced. Link to 2019 Jury here.


The Good Design Award accolade, more commonly known as the Good Design Tick, is among the most respected and recognised international design endorsement symbols in the industry.

The Good Design Tick of approval offers companies a competitive advantage that leads to increased sales and point of sale differentiation. These registered trademarks are visible indicators of good design and a brand’s commitment to excellence in design and innovation.

All entries in the Good Design Awards are evaluated against criteria for Good Design, Design Innovation and Design Impact and awarded accolades in the following order.

  • Good Design Award Winner

  • Good Design Award Gold

  • Good Design Award Best in Class

  • Good Design Award for Sustainability

  • Good Design Award of the Year


Good Design Australia presents a number of special awards which can be found here.

More Information


#Sponsored Competitions


#Similar Competitions