top of page

Non architecture award for unbuilt projects 2021

Non architecture award for unbuilt projects 2021





16 July 2021 – Award launch and submissions open on our website.
16 – 31 July – Special registration period (10€).
01 – 20 August – Early registration period (15€).
21 August – 10 September – Regular registration period (20€).
11 – 30 September – Late registration period (25€).
30 September, 11:59 PM – Submission closes.
01 – 05 November 2021 – Winner’s announcement.
The timing always refers to Central European Time (CET). To avoid confusion, please check the countdown on the award page.


Construction is the most obvious reward for an architectural project, but very often in order to make things buildable, architects have to sacrifice innovation and creativity and surrender to business as usual.

Non Architecture launches an award to honour those projects that didn’t take that approach and are unbuilt and unbuildable, either because they were designed to stay as such, or because their innovative charge brought them into the realm of the unpractical. We want to reward their innovative and experimental character with an award, organized in 4 categories – Urban, Landscape, Architecture and Aspatial.

By recognizing remarkable achievements in architecture, we intend to highlight exemplary projects that serve as inspiration for practitioners. Equally important, these awards elevate the potential for positive impact that an exploratory approach in architecture has on the future of the profession.

The award is open for student works, conceptual designs, competition entries, research & speculative initiatives of all sorts. Projects can have an exploratory or critical purpose, as long as they were not designed with the primary goal of being built.



Click the above link for more details.


bottom of page